It’s OK To Love Two Things

It’s OK to love two things at the same time.

Let this sink in for a moment.

Last August, I began my career at a school affiliated with the Church I have attended for a long time. It is such a blessing to serve in a place that I love, was married in and have grown strong in my faith in. I wake up in the morning excited to come to my job and have the ability to not only teach the traditional school stuff, but get to share God’s love with my students.

Last August, I began a journey with my husband in his career as a youth pastor. Just as God does, he threw us a curve ball, because he always knows what the best plan is. Through my husband’s job we would be serving in a new church.

Now for those not working in the ministry, you may be wondering what’s the big deal? Unfortunately, it can be hurtful to those in one place of worship if you are not devoting all of your faith walk in one place. I understand this. I invite those who feel this way to have an open heart and realize that it is ok.

If we are on fire for God, it should be ok to serve in multiple places because we serve the same God, and that is amazing. Where and when you physically sit on Sunday should not matter, but rather where your heart is sitting.

My job as a Christian school teacher, and wife in the ministry at different churches is a tough one, but also extremely rewarding. It is something that is on my heart daily. Sometimes it feels like church all the time, and I know that it is ok. I know that my heart is to serve the Lord and if I can do that in more than one place, all I can say is praise be to God.

I urge you to reflect on the statement “It’s Ok to Love Two Things” Think about this and how it relates to your life. For you it may not be in the ministry but in something else.

Whatever you do know that it is ok.

And to that I all I can say is Amen.

Leave a Reply

