What My Husband’s Job Description Didn’t Tell Me.. Confessions Of a Youth Pastor’s Wife

I’ll never forget the moment Brad got the call. We stood in our kitchen jumping up and down like 5 year olds on Christmas morning, I being the emotional one that I am, cried and jumped at the same time. I remember the moments past, holding him both in disbelief of the opportunity that lied ahead.

I’ll never forget the moment when Brad got the call, and this time I don’t mean the type on the phone. I always knew Brad would someday end up as a youth leader in a church, I just didn’t know how or when. Last August, those questions were answered.

Flash forward 7 months, I sit here with a new appreciation of a career I knew little about before. Being a youth pastor is a 24/7 job, and many do not realize all that the job entails. Many wonder what do they do during the day? My answer to that, work! I’ve come to realize that to be a youth pastor you wear many hats; a spiritual leader, counselor, church leader, organizer, listener, flash mobber, the list goes on.

So why write a blog post about being their wife? Coming home from a youth pastor’s conference this weekend, I realized that there is a community of youth pastor’s wives out there who share the same joy, struggle, work, and dedication, yet feel like we are the only ones sometimes. This is my opportunity to share my heart not only to relate to spouses in the ministry, but to give an appreciation of the lives of youth workers, and raise awareness for things that effect our teens. I wish when my husband became a youth pastor someone was there to mentor me, and share the description of what my job description was in the ministry.

I often laugh saying that churches have it right. In any ministry role that hires someone who is married, the church is getting 2 for the price of 1! I know I am not alone in saying that youth pastor wives spend just as much time planning, going to church and youth events, mentoring kids, and sharing various other talents as their pastor spouse. Is this something to complain about? Absolutely not. But can it be stressful, and difficult sometimes? Sure. This is why I hope to reach the many like myself who share this unique role.

As a teacher, when I say the phrase “my kids” I am referring to my students which mean the world to me. As I embark on this journey in the ministry I now have two meanings to this phrase, my second being our youth group family, and I wouldn’t change that for the world.

I leave you wondering what other youth pastor wives have gone through, and how they have managed this lifestyle. I hope that many can share their story with me, and I someday can share it with others. Please send me your story to jamielynnlewis11@yahoo.com, and maybe this community will have our voices and stories heard to inspire others.

In His Service,

Jamie Lewisheart

Leave a Reply

